Back To Basics – The Human Connection

25 Jun

Hey Guys,

My Fridays are mostly spent reading newspapers, magazines and surfing the net in preparation for the METRO FM EXPERIENCE CHART SHOW that I co-host, every Saturday (12-3pm). This past Friday I went about things differently. My focus in reading was not just on the latest buzz in the pop and celebrity culture. I read on general and political news. Yes guys, my brain does stretch that far…

 

We always view politicians as these distant people who, in my view, live separate lives to everyday men. Some people go as far as saying that “politicians should not mix with ordinary folk’. This got me thinking on the leaderships we vote into power. What do we look at and what are we presented with on a human level?

 

Joyce Banda – Malawian President

One of the things that grabbed me was Joyce Banda, whose story just pulled at my heartstrings. She was recently elected as President of Malawi, one of the poorest countries in the world. In true leadership style, she decided to downsize the government’s car fleet and wait for it… she SOLD her presidential JET. Unheard of right? This highlighted to me in practice, what “For the people. By the people” truly means. It was while reading this story that I remembered why I do what I do.

I am in this industry I love because I love my craft. Yes it comes with the fame and riches (sometimes). For relevance, we’re always on a mission to bag the next cover, massive endorsement deal and always looking at ways to set yourself apart from others in the industry. In this story I remembered, I tend to forget at times, that I do this to evoke an emotion. An emotion of excitement, healing and an escape for the people at home watching. Its selfless acts, such as Banda’s, that we need to experience and witness more often to get us back to the basics.

 

US President, Barrack Obama playing his favorite sport, basketball

In the same reading I was doing, I was struck by an article on US President Obama’s recent visit to one of their country’s top entertainment talk shows, The View. The US elections are coming up and Obama is seeking a second term in office. One of the things that have always got me interested in the US election campaign period is how politics tends to meet with entertainment. And I term this POLITAINMENT! Now imagine President Zuma having a sit down with Kuli Roberts on Headline and Phat Joe on Real Goboza – that would make for great television. Don’t you think?

 

President Jacob Zuma in full Zulu traditional gear and doing the traditional dance

Maybe we do need that kind of election process in Mzansi, as that might give us a lighter side to our candidates, that will better inform us on the type of leaders we elect into office – either than the stern statesmen-like view we’re only presented with. Maybe it’s due to this lack of POLITAINMENT that we’re in shock when Msholozi does his dance – because we’re never shown that side on an entertainment platform.

President Obama with the ladies from The View

What also got me on the Obama story was that on The View he had to take a quiz. One of the questions being; “which celeb was married for 72 days.” He answered correctly. “Kim Kardashian”. Then he was asked; “Which pop singer recently gave birth?” He didn’t know. The answer was. “Jessica Simpson”. LOL, George Bush might have known that!

 

Jessica Simpson and Kim Kardashian

So Obama knows who the Kardashians are but obviously not the Simpsons. In his defence he said; “I’m a basketball fan and I knew who Kris Humphries was married to.” Personally, I just think he’s a secret Kardashian fan!!!

This sparked a thought. With our separation of politics and entertainment – how much influence do we as entertainers, with our legions of following, have in the election process in our country? Would President Zuma have been able to respond when asked; “Which male pop star recently got married in Cape Town?” or does he know that Sophie Ndaba is getting divorced or Bonang and Euphonik are in court. Better yet, does he know about my rumored engagement to Bafana’s number 1 goalkeeper, Itumeleng Khune and my rumored pregnancy?

Wouldn’t his response to the above be interesting? What’s relevant enough for the president of a nation to be aware of or interested in?

Life is about human connections and we tend to lose sight of that along the way. Entertainment provides a platform for anyone, including politicians, to connect with people on an emotional level. Look, at every point we all lead; whether it’s at home, at school, on the sportsfield… you get my drift…

As people we just want to connect, in love, faith and compassion.

 

Peace & Love

Minnie

 

3 Responses to “Back To Basics – The Human Connection”

  1. IlubaLyachalo Mgazi (@lyachalo) 25/06/2012 at 3:20 AM #

    wow wow! insightful indeed. Sibalikhulu siyabonga ngokusivula amehlo/ Thank you Sibalukhulu for being an eye opener. I, personally, have never looked at it that way (entertainment and politics)

    Siyabonga sisi

  2. happybopape 25/06/2012 at 12:57 PM #

    Hey Minnie

    Hmmmmmm this is so eye opening, considering the fact that Our leaders must know what’s happening in the entertainment industry and in the lives of ordinary fellow South Africans , this is also to show the spirit of UBUNTU and knowing what happens to fellow africans shows that one is a hands on Leader,Rather than hearing things that happen in your country around you from people who stay out of the country..

    Thanks again for your blogs.

    Love Rachel 🙂

    • mahlatseaphane 26/06/2012 at 1:59 PM #

      Wow Minnie, i love this article, makes so much sense, like how people wanted to make Mr Obama feel guilty for knowing who KD is, why? he is human just like the rest of us and surely loves some celebrity gossip now and then.

Thanks for reading my posts, do give me a comment on all things Minnie...

