The Booty (beauty) Of My Thickness

18 Jun

Ok look over the years I’ve always gotten a lot of flack for my body, basically being too curvy compared to my peers.


Back in my beauty pageant days, I was always the ‘thickest’ in my age group. I’ve never been over weight and even at my skinniest my body shape has never really changed. I had booty, thighs and an itty bitty tiny waist – the boobies came about a year or so ago.

I’m not for 1 second going to act like it never bothered me. It did! In swimwear fashions shows I used to do every holiday, I was always the most covered up. Pageant organizers constantly told me; “Minnie you need to loose weight.”

At school I was very athletic. I featured in about four different sports. So going on crash diets was not something I did. I just kept my body firm and ensured that it remained in proportion. Sports became my source of refuge. Somehow, I still got the modeling bookings and I won the pageants that I entered (Little Miss South Africa in 2002). For me this was more validation that I didn’t really have to crash diet – Ya, that’s how much I loved my food.

It wasn’t until 2003 when I saw Beyonce’s first solo video  ­- Crazy In Love – I saw a body on mainstream TV that resembled mine. Her body shape was seen as sexy, hot and healthy. It was then I found appreciation for the body I have.

When I got in into the entertainment industry, in 2010, everyone raved about how healthy and curvy my body was. People were saying I was a true depiction of the average SA woman. Here’s the thing about that period; I was only 19. There’s a stage in a woman’s life, when your body does “funny” things. You gain, you loose. Its truly where your body tries to find its proper shape and if you don’t do anything about it (like me) it does its own thing… Yeah I got big! But the difference this time was I enjoyed the weight gain! My boobs grew, my booty grew, I was just filling out in the right places and I loved it!  Then came the pressure to lose the weight.  People started comparing me to skinnier girls in the industry and  were being really ugly about it. But in the same breath, many women loved it and were feeling more and more confident in showing their skin. That, boosted my confidence – it made me feel really special. And of course the much welcomed male attention *wink*

The moral of my story though is I’ve never been naïve to the fact that I have “junk in my trunk” and in the last year, probably more so than I’ve ever had. My recent US trip, took my body image to another level. Not only are people in the States a lot bigger but what we, here at home what we glorify as thick and beautiful is actually much bigger than we think. At the MTV movie awards, model Amber Rose walked right past me and honey is THICKER than THICK! I mean really big – but nonetheless a true African beauty.

Over the years I’ve learnt to dress for my body shape. I dress to highlight my best assets. I make sure that whatever I’m wearing is form fitting – meaning that even if I’m not showing leg or cleavage – my body is shown off. Women should celebrate their bodies – as long you’re fit and healthy thin or thick! It’s the only one you have! Let’s start celebrating the diversity in our bodies and finding the beauty in what already exists!!!

Love All Round<3

13 Responses to “The Booty (beauty) Of My Thickness”

  1. sammyg14 18/06/2012 at 12:42 PM #

    Reblogged this on sammyg14.

  2. amanda mbatha-zondi (@Sparkx_M_Z) 18/06/2012 at 12:43 PM #

    🙂 Love it honey!being a little thicker than most of the models im up against is a little hard but THE WAY I LOVE my hips,booty,tiny waist:-) i am comfortable in my skin and more SA ‘n women shud “celebrate the diversity of their bodies and find the beauty in what already exists” =)

  3. Precious Sne Zondi 18/06/2012 at 12:57 PM #

    Very very true. If you don’t stand your ground, you may find yourself swaying here and there, doing things you really don’t like just to look the part…Its good that you embrace yourself because if you’re confident on the inside, you become that much more beautiful on the outside. Thank you Minnie.

    • sgydhy 07/11/2012 at 4:53 PM #

      hi precious this sabelo we met today in a taxi lol,told abt a script im wrkng on,hence i cnt fnd u in facebook.gv m yo noz plz

  4. oneNkuli (@oneNkuli) 18/06/2012 at 1:59 PM #

    I’m a fan and your post just showed how women are evolving, as a guy this is encouraging. I’ve tried to tell a lot of the women I’m social with that it really doesn’t matter the next person says but what you think and know of yourself. People will always have something to say, good or bad, just gotta take it in your stride and let it not feed or kill your ego.

    • minniedlamini 18/06/2012 at 3:06 PM #

      Thanks for being that voice of reason to the women in your life.

  5. m0sultry 18/06/2012 at 2:01 PM #

    Reblogged this on Mo'sultry and commented:
    Totally relate to this great read as I also have some ‘junk in the trunk’ and a minnie waist, no pun intended 😉

    • minniedlamini 18/06/2012 at 3:03 PM #

      I love the “minnie waist” will go with that from now on. Thanks!!!

  6. whatsedithinksabout 18/06/2012 at 2:01 PM #

    I love your blog. Your blog post today was truly inspirational given the issues that all women anywhere have about their apperance. I have just recently become comfortable with my body image, I may not be thick but I’m loving my weight gain! Thank you for being such an inspiration to young women out there, we need more people like you in the world.

    Sedi 🙂

  7. Tumi Mantje 20/06/2012 at 2:58 PM #

    THANK YOU!! omg THANKS a million for writting this!!! …

  8. happybopape 23/06/2012 at 11:39 PM #

    wow hon its time I appreciated what I have,you just inspired me in a big way.Embracing what we have is the way forward and knowing that we are unique in our own special way we not the same and we are all fearfully and wonderfully made.Thanks sistas keep blessing us with your blogs 🙂

  9. happybopape 23/06/2012 at 11:42 PM #

    Reblogged this on Happybopape's Blog.

Thanks for reading my posts, do give me a comment on all things Minnie...

